Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Georgian history

Brief history of Georgia

Georgia is a country in the Caucasus region of Eurasia Situated at the juncture of Eastern Europe and Western Asia it is bounded to the west by the Black Sea, to the north by Russia, to the south by Turkey and Armenia, and to the east by Azerbaijan. Georgia covers a territory of 69,700 km², population is 4.385 million.
read more...


Regions of Georgia

Georgia is divided into two autonomous republics and nine regions. The nine regions are Guria, Imereti, Kakheti, Kvemo Kartli, Mtskheta-Mtianeti, Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti, Samegrelo-Zemo Svaneti, Samtskhe-Javakheti, and Shida Kartli. The autonomous republics are Abkhazia and Adjara.


Mountains of Georgia

The Georgian Mountains formed largely as the result of a plate collision between the Arabian plate moving northward with respect to the Eurasian plate. The entire region is regularly subjected to strong earthquakes from this activity. The Lesser Caucasus Mountains on the other hand, are largely of volcanic origin.